A action-packed schedule in 2021 awaits Virat Kohli and Team India

A action-packed schedule in 2021 awaits Virat Kohli and Team India

The COVID-19 pandemic brought a majority of the cricket action of 2020 to a halt. For close to eight months, starting March, most countries went into a lockdown, depriving both fans and players of the much-needed cricket dosage. However, things could be different in 2021, especially for Team India as a packed cricket schedule awaits.

An Action-Packed 2021 for Cricket
If reports have got it right, Indian cricket fans are in for a royal treat in 2021 as Team India is bound to have a year-long action-packed schedule; which also includes the 2021 Indian Premier League. Team India could feature in 14 Test Matches, 16 ODIs & 23 T20 internationals all through 2021. The schedule also lines up ICC tournaments – Asia Cup T20 (June) and the ICC World T20 (October).

BCCI’s Commitment For 2021
The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) is looking to fulfilling its commitments towards internationals series’ that were left stranded due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and those which involved Team India. Although there is no official word on the schedule, a source did confirm that BCCI is in talks for the 2021 calendar.

BCCI’s To Implement Rotational Policy
With loads of talent at it perusal, the BCCI intends to give an opportunity to all. The best way going forward would be to implement a rotational policy for available players. “We understand it will be tough on the players but we are obliged to honour FTP commitments. We have a bigger pool of talent now and players. We will make sure players get ample rest before called in for India duties. Rotation policy will surely come into play”, BCCI informed.

A Sneak Into Team India’s 2021 Schedule
1) January – March: India host England (4 Tests, 4 ODIs, 4 T20s)
2) April: Indian Premier League 2021
3) June: Tour of Sri Lanka (3 ODIs, 5 T20s)
4) June – July: Asia Cup 2021
5) July: Tour of Zimbabwe (3 ODIs)
6) July – September: Tour of England (5 Tests)
7) October: India host South Africa (3 ODIs, 5 T20s)
8) October – November: ICC World T20 2021
9) November – December: India host New Zealand (2 Tests, 3 T20s)
10) December: Tour of South Africa (3 Tests, 3 T20s)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top