BCCI releases playing 11 for first Border-Gavaskar test match

Team India head into the last leg of its tour of Australia with the Border-Gavaskar test series slated to start this week. On eve of the first test, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the official squad of starting XI.

Squad For The First Test

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on its official Twitter handle released India’s Test squad to take on Australia in the first Border-Gavaskar Test starting tomorrow in Adelaide.

The starting XI will feature Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Prithvi Shaw and Wriddhiman Saha Get Nod

In a rather surprising selection, the selectors decided to stick with young opener Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane. Although Shaw has seen a dip in his form off late, a selection in the test team could just be the right payback for him to show the trust the selectors have shown in him. India will be heavily relying on Shaw and Mayank Agarwal to give them a steady start in their first pink-ball day-night game overseas. Shaw’s inclusion sees Shubhman Gill and experienced batsman KL Rahul drop to the bench.

Another inclusion in the squad that might have come as a surprise to few was that of wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha. Despite coming off an injury, Saha was picked over Rishabh Pant who could have been preferred considering his form in the past couple of series.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy Kicks Off in Adelaide

The first of the four-match Border-Gavaskar test series will take place at the Adelaide Oval from December 17-21. A rare outing for India will see them face the pink ball under lights. Playing conditions will be different than the one India encountered from their last pink-ball test against Bangladesh; which they won convincingly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top