On Tuesday, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals come face to face for the first time this season. Virat Kohli loses yet another toss and Rishabh Pant forces the RCB side to bat first. Bangalore didn’t have a great start to the BLR vs DC match as they lost both their openers Kohli and Paddikal within 4 overs. Just after the powerplay, the umpire was seen giving a warning to Delhi Capitals’ skipper for the actions of Amit Mishra.
Amit Mishra uses saliva on the ball during BLR vs DC match
The leggie had unknowingly rubbed saliva on the cricket ball before bowling his first delivery. It was clearly a violation of ICC’s new rule. Umpire took the ball from Amit Mishra and sanitized it immediately. The skipper also received the 1st warning. Below is the video of the incident.
So what would have happened if one of Delhi bowlers had repeated the same mistake? According to ICC’s new rules, a team can be issued up to two warnings for applying saliva on the ball. But if a team repeats it for the 3rd time, the umpire will penalize the fielding side will 5 runs. This means the batting team will receive 5 additional runs. Instead of saliva, players can use sweat to shine the ball.
— Cricket fan (@Cricketfan093) April 27, 2021
However, Amit Mishra didn’t repeat the mistake during BLR vs DC match. He did well with the ball and helped Rishabh Pant-led side get rid of dangerous Glenn Maxwell. The leg-spinner now has 166 wickets in the IPL and he requires 6 more wickets to break Lasith Malinga’s record of most wickets in the history of the league.
Despite the early blow, Challengers reached a strong total of 171, all thanks to AB de Villiers’ unbeaten 75 off 42 balls. When this article was posted Delhi had yet to bat. Just after the first innings ended, a heavy storm hit Ahmedabad which delayed the innings for 10 minutes.