Dean Jones Gets Reply From Royal Challengers Bangalore Player For Questioning His Retention

All franchises have announced the players which they have retained and released from their squads before IPL 2020 Auction. Released players have a chance of getting picked during the auction. Royal Challengers Bangalore have released the most players (12) while CSK and SRH have released least players (5 each).

RCB released Akshdeep Nath, Colin de Grandhomme, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klassen, Himmat Singh, Kulwant Khejroliya, Marcus Stoinis, Milind Kumar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Prayas Ray Barman, Shimron Hetmyer, Tim Southee. Currently, Royal Challengers Bangalore have left 13 players in their squad. They have named Virat Kohli as the captain of the team for the upcoming season.

Jones Questioned Royal Challengers Bangalore Player’s Retention

However, former Australian cricketer Dean Jones is not happy with the RCB’s decision of retaining Parthiv Patel. Cricketer turned expert Dean Jones questioned this decision replying to Mike Hesson, who is the Director of Cricket Operations at RCB, Jones tweeted, “You kept @parthiv9?”

Parthiv Patel was quick to reply to commentator for his jibe. Patel tweeted,  “So that u can be at peace during IPL in #selectdugout….”. Select dugout is a segment of Star Sports where cricket experts analyse the game during live coverage.

Patel joined royal challengers Bangalore in 2018 and in two seasons he has played as an opener. In IPL 2019, he scored 373 runs including 2 fifties in 14 matches with an average of 26.64. He has played for 6 different teams in his IPL career which are: CSK, Kochi Tuskers, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians and Royal challengers Bangalore.

Beside Parthiv Patel, RCB has retained Virat Kohli, AB De Villiers, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Shivam Dubey, Moeen Ali, Yuzvendra Chahal, Pawan Negi, Devdutt Paddikal, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini. RCB had a humiliating season in 2019 as they ended the league table at the bottom with only 5 wins.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top