Kolkata Knight Riders’ wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has been found guilty of breaking IPL’s Code Of Conduct. “Karthik admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.2 of the IPL’s Code of Conduct and accepted the sanction. For Level 1 breaches of the Code of Conduct, the Match Referee’s decision is final and binding,” the official statement confirms.
In the second qualifier, the platform was all set when Dinesh Karthik walked out to bat. Chasing a modest total of 136, KKR had 7 wickets in hand, needing just 11 off 20 in order to book their place in this season’s IPL final. But what followed a collapse for the ages. KKR self-destructed, losing 4 wickets for their next five runs. It all started with Dinesh Karthik falling to Kagiso Rabada, and obviously, his frustrating walk back to the pavilion.
Here is the video
18th over’s the last ball saw Dinesh Karthik inside-edging a length ball onto the stumps. Karthik’s wicket at this crucial juncture gave DC an opening and he knew it. In fact, he knew it far too well. Disgruntled, DK dislodged the off-stump after the other two had already been destroyed by the ball. The specific reason for Karthik’s reprimand isn’t known yet, but his aforementioned behaviour seems to be the case.
What’s next for Kolkata Knight Riders?
The left-handed troika of Eoin Morgan, Shakib Al-Hasan and Sunil Narine bagged a duck each before Tripathi’s six sealed the close affair for Kolkata. They now move to face three-time champions Chennai Super Kings in this season’s IPL final. Yesterday’s qualification has also marked the end of KKR’s seven-year-long finale drought. Will it be the Super King’s fourth tournament win or will Eoin Morgan’s men come out on top, helping KKR clinch their third Indian Premier League title in the process? Find out in the ultimate finale, which will take place tomorrow, October 15.