Australian pacer Mitchell Starc took Ben Duckett’s catch on Day 4 of the second Ashes 2023 test at Lord’s which was overturned by the third umpire. After the whole controversy on July 1, legendary Australian pacer Glenn McGrath slammed the third umpire’s decision and termed it ‘the biggest load of rubbish’ on air.
Mitchell Starc’s controversial catch in second Ashes 2023 test
England opening batter Ben Duckett had scored a fifty in the second innings and was the only English batter who could attack the Aussie pacers on Day 4. All-rounder Cameron Green bowled a body line bouncer to Duckett in the 29th over of England innings.
The English opener was in two minds as he wasn’t allowed enough room on the delivery and eventually decided to play a ramp shot. Mitchell Starc was placed at the third man boundary and took a sliding catch towards his left and then grazed the ball onto the field.
At once it looked like a clean catch and the Australian team started celebrating but the on-field umpires referred it to third umpire Marais Erasmus. The decision was ruled in favor of Ben Duckett as Erasmus believed that Starc didn’t have control over his body before he touched the ball on the ground.
Glenn McGrath fumes at the third umpire’s decision
“If that’s England taking that catch, that is out! England have the best of the conditions and now they are getting the best of the rules. I’m sorry, that is the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen,” McGrath said on Starc’s catch while commentating for BBC Radio’s Test Match Special on Saturday.
“He (Starc) has got that ball under control. That ball is under control. I’ve seen everything this game has to offer. If that is not out, then every other catch that’s ever been taken should not be out. That is a disgrace,” the former Australian pacer further added.
MCC then clarified after the controversial incident that Mitchell Starc’s catch on Day 4 of the second Ashes 2023 test was ruled not out by the third umpire because he did not have full control over his movements.
MCC’s clarification on the third umpire’s decision in second Ashes 2023 test
“Law 33.3 clearly states that a catch is only completed when the fielder has ‘complete control over the ball and his/her own movement’,” the MCC said on their Twitter account after the controversial decision in the second Ashes 2023 test.
“The ball cannot touch the ground before then. In this particular incident, Mitchell Starc was still sliding as the ball rubbed the ground, therefore he was not in control of his movement,” they further clarified.