India Squad For West Indies Tour 2019 Announced

India squad for West Indies tour has been announced on Sunday. This is India’s first tour after World Cup 2019. After India’s batting collapse in the semi-final, a lot of questions arose. There is still a debate on no.4 batting position as management struggled to pick the best man who can fit in the position.

Another issue was linked to MS Dhoni’s selection. The former Indian captain was criticised for his performance in the World Cup as he has failed to deliver as a finisher. But Dhoni made clear that he will be unavailable for the Windies Tour as he is joining Territorial Army for the next two months.

India Squad For The West Indies Tour

Virat Kohli will lead the team in all three series. Jasprit Bumrah has given rest for both limited-overs series. T20I squad is full with some new names like Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar. All-rounder Hardik Pandya will be resting during the whole tour while Dinesh Karthik has been dropped.

The team will travel with only one wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant during limited-overs series. Wriddhiman Saha is the backup keeper for the Test series. Also, Rohit Sharma who was the highest run-getter in the 2019 World Cup is making his comeback in Test cricket. Rohit is replacing Murali Vijay in the test team.

T20I Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

India Tour Of West Indies Schedule

Tour will begin with 3-match T20I series starting 3 August end will end on 3 September. After T20 series they are scheduled to play 3 ODIs and 2 Test matches. Here below is the full schedule of the tour (All times are in Indian Standard Time).

1st T20I: 3 August, Venue: Florida, Time: 8:00 PM

2nd T20I: 4 August, Venue: Florida, Time: 8:00 PM

3rd T20I: 6 August, Venue: Guyana, Time: 8:00 PM

1st ODI: 8 August, Venue: Guyana, Time: 7:00 PM

2nd ODI: 11 August, Venue: Trinidad, Time: 7:00 PM

3rd ODI: 14 August, Venue: Trinidad, Time: 7:00 PM

1st Test: 22 August, Venue: Antigua, Time: 7:00 PM

2nd Test: 30 August, Venue: Jamaica, Time: 8:00 PM


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top