The final match of the Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2019 has ended up with an epic drama. Especially, the overthrow controversy of giving 6 runs instead of 5 runs. A mistake from umpire costs a ‘World Cup title’ for New Zealand. But we can’t criticize umpire’s mistake because it was very small margin of error.
In case you don’t know:
In the final match of World Cup 2019 between England and New Zealand, umpire Kumar Dharmasena made a mistake which results in World Cup Title loss for blackcaps. Meanwhile, England were chasing a target of 242 in the final clash of the World Cup 2019, they needed 15 runs with remaining 2 wickets in the final over. But in the fourth ball of the final over something happened which will be remembered for a long time. Guptill’s throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes results in 6 runs. But according to International Cricket Council (ICC) Rules it was 5 runs not 6 runs. And umpire made mistake by giving 6 runs.
Kumar Dharamasena admits the mistake in Cricket World Cup 2019 Final
After a few days of Overthrow Controversy, the umpire who made mistake comes up with ‘error admitting message’. Meanwhile, Kumar Dharamasena had given 6 runs instead of 5 runs in the fourth ball of final match. As we all know that the match has been ended in a tie and the game shifted to super over. But super over again ended up in a tie. And according to the rules of International Cricket Council (ICC) England chosen as Winner of the World Cup 2019. England has chosen as winner because they had more number of boundaries as compare to New Zealand. This was one of the most heartbreaking decision for the blackcaps. And many experts and fans trolled ICC for this rule.
In case Umpire didn’t made a mistake, the result of the Final match could vary at that time.
Here is what Kumar Dharamasena said
“I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now. But we don’t have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I don’t regret the decision I made”