Sreesanth Picks His T20 World Cup XI; MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina Included

India pace bowler S Sreesanth who is near to get free from his ban soon has picked up his Indian playing XI for the upcoming T20 World Cup which is scheduled to take place in Australia later this year. He included former India captain MS Dhoni and veteran players Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh.

Moreover, the speedster has also named Sanju Samson at the top of the order along with swashbuckling openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan. With much surprise, he named himself as the 12th man of the team. Sreesanth, the two-time World Cup-winning pace bowler has said that he thought he could return in the squad again. As he s two months away from lifting his ban, he can be seen in the Kerala Ranji team as well for the upcoming season.

However, he admitted that Sanju Samson or Shikhar Dhawan will join Rohit at the top but Samson has failed to impress so far with the bat. In the middle order, he picked India captain Virat Kohli as the No.3 batsman. Kohli is considered as one of the best batsmen in the world. Along with him, there is MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina who will be there in the middle-order. Raina last played in the Indian colours in 2018.

Team India (AFP Photo)

On the other hand, MS Dhoni has been out of action ever since India lost to New Zealand in the semi-final of ICC Cricket World Cup last year in England. Moreover, Sreesanth named all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja too in his team. His bowling attack comprised of the quality bowlers like Harbhajan Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini and Jasprit Bumrah.

However, Harbhajan has not played for India in an ICC competition since the 2016 T20 World Cup at home. Kuldeep Yadav, on the other hand, has been out of the Indian set up after the loss against England in the World Cup last year. Currently, the entire world has been fighting against the global pandemic novel coronavirus which has either cancelled or postponed all the sporting events across the globe. As the situation is slowly getting better in some places, the action will begin soon as expected. 

Sreesanth’s T20 World Cup XI:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan/Sanju Samson, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, S Sreesanth (12th man)

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Indian In CPL: Pravin Tambe sets to play for this team in Caribbean Premier League 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top