Team India defeated West Indies by an innings and 141 runs in the first test of the two-match test series in Dominica. On Day 3 of the India vs West Indies test, young keeper Ishan Kishan went against the spirit of cricket as he tried dismissing Jason Holder with an Alex Carey-like stumping.
Australian wicketkeeper Alex Carey had dismissed English batter Jonny Bairstow with a late stumping during the second Ashes 2023 test at Lord’s. Bairstow’s dismissal ignited a debate on the spirit of cricket as many former English players termed it unethical.
Ishan Kishan Tries to Emulate Alex Carey-like Stumping Against Jason Holder
Ishan Kishan attempted to recreate the Jonny Bairstow-like dismissal against West Indies all-rounder Jason Holder on Day 3 of the first India vs West Indies test. However, he couldn’t get success with the attempt.
Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja came in to bowl the 33rd over of the West Indies innings and bowled 6 dot deliveries on the trot. On the final delivery of Jadeja’s over, Jason Holder attempted a cut shot but failed to make any contact.
Ishan Kishan collected the ball and waited for a bit behind the stumps and then whipped off the bails as soon as Holder took his foot off the ground. However, the umpires ruled it in favour of the West Indies all-rounder as the over had been called before Kishan made the stumping attempt and hence the ball was dead.
During the second Ashes 2023 test at Lord’s, Australian keeper Alex Carey had dismissed Jonny Bairstow in a similar fashion. TV umpire Marais Erasmus went through the replays and had confirmed that Bairstow was out of his ground before the on-field umpire had called it over and hence the dismissal was legal as per the ‘Laws of Cricket’.
However, it didn’t go well with the English side and some former England players who termed it unethical as per the ‘Spirit of Cricket’. England skipper Ben Stokes made it pretty clear that they won’t use such a mode of dismissal ever to get rid of any opponent batter.
According to ICC’s Law 22.214.171.124, the ball is dead, when it is “finally settled in the hands of the wicketkeeper or of the bowler.” Law 20.1.2 further adds: “The ball shall be considered dead when it is clear to the bowler’s end umpire that the fielding side and both batters at the wicket have ceased to regard it as in play.”