Cricket

Quinton de Kock distracting Fakhar Zaman led to a controversial Run-out

Controversy erupts after South African wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock distracted Fakhar Zaman to run-out him on 193. Pakistan team was chasing a mammoth 341-run total to win the 2nd ODI of the series at Johannesburg. The batting line-up of visitors collapsed from the start, however, opening batsman Zaman held on to the one end till the last over.

Fakhar Zaman’s run-out vs South Africa

The win was too far from Pakistan as 31 runs were needed to win in the last over. Fakhar Zaman was playing on 192 and every cricket fan wanted to witness his 2nd double ton. Zaman played a Lungi Ngidi’s delivery and shouted for a double. Both batsmen completed the first run comfortably.

However, when they were running the second, Quinton de Kock tricked the Pakistan opener by acting like Haris Rauf was running to the danger end. Thus, Zaman didn’t put much effort to return to his end and a direct hit from Aiden Markram did the rest of the work. Fakhar Zaman was in disbelief after getting run-out in a tragic manner. On the other hand, Quinton de Kock had a good laugh.

He fell 7-run short of his 2nd double century in ODI cricket. Previously, Fakhar had hit a double ton against Zimbabwe in 2019. The internet has left divided over the run-out incident. Some feel the act of South African wicket-keeper is against the law and displays sportsmanship. However, some think there is nothing wrong with the trickery and batsmen should be aware of the surrounding.

ALSO READ: Who will win IPL 2021? Scott Styris reveals his prediction for the season

ICC’s rule on Fake Fielding

However, according to ICC’s rule book a “deliberate attempt to distract the striker” constitutes “unfair play” under clause 41. So the match referee may hand Quinton de Kock demerit points or he may get fined. But Fakhar Zaman feels the wicket-keeper did nothing wrong there.

Pakistan opening batsman said after the match, “The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,”

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Ellyse Perry puts brilliant effort to save six during Ausw vs Nzw 2nd ODI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top